How to Block/Unblock Someone on Instagram Using Any Device

Instagram continues to be one of the hottest social media platforms out there. Users can expect the network to keep flourishing throughout the rest of 2020. It’s not just individuals who make good use of the app; business accounts are also popular.

Like Facebook and Twitter, this social network is where people get news and keep up with trends. They also stay connected to their friends and family this way.

Yet, sometimes people run into trolls or unpleasant users. For that reason, this guide will discuss how to block people on Instagram. It will also show folks how to unblock someone on Instagram.


Table of Contents

  1. How to Block Someone on IG Using a Mobile Device
  2. How to Unblock Someone on IG Using a Mobile Device
  3. How to Block Someone on IG Using a Desktop Computer
  4. How to Unblock Someone on IG Using a Desktop Computer
  5. Why Would We Block Someone on Instagram?
  6. How to Find Your Instagram Block List
  7. Is There Any Alternative to Block a Profile?
  8. FAQs
  9. Conclusion

How to Block Someone on Instagram Using the Mobile App

Block Someone on Instagram Using the Mobile
For those who want to know how to block someone on Instagram, the best way is to use the app. The process is straightforward, although the icons may look different depending on if it’s an Android or iPhone.

In just a few easy steps, that profile will be gone, and the user won’t have to worry about seeing their content in the newsfeed.

How to Unblock Someone on Instagram Using a Phone

Unblock SomeOne on Instagram Using a Phone
Wondering how to unblock someone on Instagram without it being a big deal? It’s easier than one might think. Here are the instructions for iPhone and Android users. Keep in mind that the icons might be slightly different, but they’ll be in the same place.

If he or she wants to undo the action later, they can. The steps for doing this are located in this guide, too. The other individual won’t know that someone unblocked them.

How to Block Someone on Instagram Using a Computer

Block Someone on Instagram Using a Computer
Some people might not realize that they can block a user on Instagram with their PC. The steps are just as simple as on an Android. Individuals can use any Web browser they want, as long as it supports the IG webpage.

Keep in mind that this action is reversible in case they want to unblock someone on Instagram. The next section will share some quick and easy steps for granting permission back to another user so they can follow.

How to Unblock Someone on Instagram on PC Easily

Unblock Someone on Instagram on PC Easily
PC and Mac users can unblock on Instagram with a few simple steps. While the interface may look slightly different depending on the computer, the steps are the same. Follow along with these easy guidelines to unblock a profile.

Keep in mind that users must click the confirmation box to save their changes. Otherwise, they won’t actually unblock the other profile.

Why Would We Block Someone on Instagram?

There are lots of reasons why someone may block a user on Instagram. It’s not usually the first thing people think about, but this function is important, especially in terms of safety.

How to Find Your Instagram Block List

Block List
The best thing about cutting someone off on IG is that people stop seeing their content in their newsfeed. The downside is that it’s hard for them to find and unblock them. Here is the best way to find those users. This tip works on Android and iPhone.

Is There Any Alternative to Restrict a Profile?

Some might wonder, can you block someone on Instagram without actually restricting them? In a way, yes, this is possible. Here are a few explanations.

FAQs

How Can You Tell If You Have Been Blocked on IG?

One of the best things about social media is that people can block others without that person knowing. Yet, if a user is wondering if someone blocked them, it’s a different story. There are a few ways to figure out if they restricted access.

What Does My Profile Look Like to Someone I Blocked?

If someone is restricted and they try to go to that person’s profile, they will see the account, but no posts. They can still see their profile picture and follower stats. Yet, there won’t be any content to see.

Can a Person I Blocked Still Mention Me on IG?

No. he or she may try to mention the other user, but they won’t be able to. When they go to enter the individual’s username, it won’t show up.

Did They Block Me or Delete Their Account?

It may be that he or she deactivated their account. Try asking a friend to look up that profile. If they don’t see it, then the owner probably deactivated. However, if they do see it, then that user just restricted the other person. Another way to tell they blocked someone is if other people can still mention them or comment on their posts.

Stay Safe & Control Who Sees Your Content

IG continues to be one of the best platforms of 2020. Remember that privacy is crucial to people’s well-being. Rather than get annoyed that someone restricted access to another person, focus on all the fun sides.

IG is great for sharing photos, videos, news, and common interests. Just because a person is on someone else’s blocked list doesn’t mean they can’t enjoy the social network. Do you have experience with blocking (or unblocking) people on Instagram? Leave your tips in the comments below.

Published: December 21, 2021Updated: June 21, 2021

Matt Robinson

Matt Robinson

Matt is an experienced technical writer and translator skilled in writing targeted texts for a variety of audiences. He has a diversified background, including social media management of various products. He is a data-driven strategist and a passionate story-teller. He posts about all social innovations and delivers high-quality research and content to our readers.



Comments

Leave a comment

2 comments on "How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Instagram: The Ultimate Guide"

  • M.S.
    January 3, 2021 at 5:20 pm

    I have been reading several articles, most outdated..this one being the most current, though. I’m still not sure how to confirm if someone is blocked. I have noticed that my DM’s were still there on an account that (possibly) blocked me ..they did not disappear as most blogs have indicated. I can click on their profile within the chat..the “follow” button is still there but because it’s a private account it’s just simply blank. I manually unsent my messages while that persons are still there. I can’t really tell based on those factors. Any thoughts?

    • Linda Andress
      January 12, 2021 at 12:47 am

      Hello,
      Thank you for your question!
      Taking in mind your description, I may suppose that that person hasn’t blocked you but removed you from their list of followers.